Wallpapers
Sculpture
Street Art
Traditional painting
Traditional drawing
Advertising
Craft Store
Published 17 April 2010 by Pauline & Nicolas
Art, Illustration

Interview : Nicolas Bouvier (Sparth), concept artist

Nicolas Bouvier, best known under the name Sparth, is a worldwide known Concept Artist. He has worked on games such as Assassin’s Creed, Rage and Prince of Persia : Warrior Within. He has not only worked at Darkworks, UbiSoft or even idSoftware, but he has also creates many French and English book covers. His Concept Art have been featured in several books and his own artbook “Structura – The art of Sparth” is a real success. So it is with great pleasure that we ask him some questions!


Nicolas Bouvier - SparthHow did you come to this passion for illustration and painting and what studies have you made to come to this?

I draw since my early childhood. Since I am five years-old, I put in place stories accompanied by simple texts. It was most of the time about animals, with mainly birds and small pigs. Do not ask me why small pigs, I wouldn’t be able to remember me.

From this point, I realized that the only thing that passionates me was drawing, I had a rather neutral and reserved attitude for everything else. It is only much later, around 15, that I opened my mind a little more to the world, and I gradually discovered what I loved or didn’t and what makes me vibrate. In my memories, I would say that this whole process took time. I had to find me, as many of us at the same age, and it’s only during adolescence that I believe I’ve really become someone enthusiast.

Despite this introvert attitude, I still had enormous fortunate to have parents who moved from one country to another. These migrations probably haven’t left me indifferent on both cultural and artistic level. But it is only later that I realized the impact these roaming had on me.

After a philosophical tray in 1989 I spent a preparatory year at l’Atelier de Sèvres. I embedded the ENSAD decorative arts the year after.

“I mentally submerged myself to think only to the universe I describe. I live it almost emotionally, and music plays a huge role in this process.”

What are your main sources of inspiration? Why trips you made are so important to you?

As a child you retain everything: the details around us, the colors, the sounds, the smells. The brain is in learning mode I assume, even more than at the adult age. For example I remember raising a stone on the dusty soil at Bali at the age of 12 or 13 while my parents were watching a cremation. There was a scorpion on that stone so I quickly threw it. A few minutes later, I found a big bill on the ground while the cremation continued. What I am trying to say is that I saw things at my level, at the ground level. If I recall correctly, people were burning the body of an important character. Men wore a kind of enormous palanquin and made huge circles while singing. Later, they burned him according to the tradition of the island. It was impressive.
All these details, small and large, are always there, years after years. And it’s only one example among others. But life is made of events like this, especially when you change country several times.

I truly believe that our artistic sensitivity is the consequence of all these years observing and learning. Now on, to a more current point of view, my sources of inspiration are multiple. From John Berkey to Vangelis, I’m feeding myself with images and sounds day after day, and this more and more quickly as the world is also moving faster and faster.

You’ve passed from the dark and nightmarish universe of Alone in The Dark to the medieval and sunny one of Assassins Creed. What is your secret to adapt yourself to so different projects? What is your technique to immerse yourself in a universe?

The Concept Design adapts itself to any universe since graphics rules to produce quality images are the same. When we know what complementary colors are, or how to develop visual directions in an image, we can extrapolate these rules to all universes, without any limitations. Knowledge of anatomy and perspective are two major conditions, namely that for these two disciplines, the learning is never over. It is, I think, a very healthy position that you must always keep.

Of course I have my preferences: science fiction and the depiction of space in all its aspects are two things that fascinate me, and I have also a complete unreasonable passion for the Alien and Blade Runner universe, both from Ridley Scott. But I also passionately love post-apocalyptic universes. I’ve also worked on the Rage project for IDsoftware in Dallas from 2005 to 2008: a complete “post apo” universe if I may say. The possibilities are endless.

Also, please note that when I create, I “live” my image. I mentally submerged myself to think only to the universe I describe. I live it almost emotionally, and music plays a huge role in this process.

“When we know what complementary colors are, or how to develop visual directions in an image, we can extrapolate these rules to all universes, without any limitations.”

As a lead artist or concept artist, what is your specific role in the development of a project? Does your job ends early in the creative process or does it continues until the project is done?

The Lead artist is often the person on who artistic and creative directors relied on to materialize their ideas on screen. For that, he must know the intentions of the current project and the implied needs. When some elements of the scenario or the game design are determined, the concept artist is also here to ensure that these concepts come to life, visually speaking. This means quick sketches in black and white, story board, ideas of characters, fast gameplay ideas put on paper, etc.

In theory we still play a role in the first two third of the production of a game, as well as throughout the period of pre-prod, of course. But it often happened that we need concept artists to the latest days and beyond, especially for marketing during the period where the game is released: videogame magazines, interviews and making-of, etc.

The videogame domain seems close to your heart. Don’t you want to explore totally different domains in the future?

I’ve often wanted to explore other domains such as movie, and I’ve worked elsewhere several times on punctual productions. But I’ve always refused to work on longer productions because most of the time it implicates a total inadequacy with the family routine. On this side, the videogame industry is more stable, not only speaking about timetable, but also financially. I have three children, and being far away from them several months in a row for a filming seems highly impossible for me.

Last year I was in touch with Dreamworks that I went to see in Glendale (California). And even though I will have been very enthusiastic to join them, we admitted with my wife that it will be better not to move on Los Angeles. We have preferred Seattle where we live since January 2009, and we are very happy here. The Washington state is extremely green and the nature is everywhere here.

“Abilities to acquire solid capacities of judgment and to know how to clearly express his ideas or concepts are as important as brilliantly making an illustration for a client.”

Is it easy to enter in the videogame industry as an Illustrator? What are the required qualities?

To be honest, back in 1996 when I started, this type of trade was new so it is very hard to compare with the actual period. At this time, the videogame industry in France was clumsily linked to the multimedia and CD-rom jobs. I admit that the word today makes us smile, and regularly artists who proposed their services were coming from the comic books industry.

Today, the problem is that jobs are unusual for a profession which has found its place and professionalize itself in time. The videogames studios in France remain rare and de facto many young concept artists try their luck in North America or in other parts of Europe. But French artists are still there, and their originality is really well-recognized, not only in France but also worldwide.

I think that the best artists who have integrated the videogame industry nowadays are the ones who have benefited from traditional techniques and who have progressively moved to digital for the needs of the job. But what can be also very important nowadays, is to know, as an artist, how to cleverly integrate companies which need our skills and hire us. Abilities to acquire solid capacities of judgment and to know how to clearly express his ideas or concepts are as important as brilliantly making an illustration for a client.

Thanks a lot for this interview!
Thank you!

Discover the portfolio of Nicolas Bouvier and don’t hesitate to check his artbook “Structura – The art of Sparth”.

29 people appreciate this post.
Share this article
  • http://devilminer.com Miguel Lopez

    Incredible work, Sir Sparth. Thank you and hope you never stop inspiring us.

  • Daniel

    This is sure great work, and i want to even learn to draw this myself as a hobby.

    I really hope you will post more work in the feature.

Vallée Duhamel – SODEC

23/07/2014  /  Vallée Duhamel – SODEC

The Kama Sutra Alphabet

22/07/2014  /  The Kama Sutra Alphabet

S-Lips

22/07/2014  /  S-Lips

We Love Webdesign #253

20/07/2014  /  We Love Webdesign #253

Wallpapers
Sculpture
Street Art
Peinture traditionnelle
Dessin traditionnel
Advertising
Craft Store
Publié le 17 avril 2010 par Pauline & Nicolas
Art, Illustration

Interview : Nicolas Bouvier (Sparth), concept artist

Nicolas Bouvier, plus connu sous le nom de Sparth, est un concept artist de renommée mondiale. Il a travaillé sur des jeux vidéos tels que Assassin’s Creed, Rage ou encore Prince of Persia : L’âme du Guerrier. Non content d’avoir bossé pour Darkworks, UbiSoft ou encore idSoftware, il a aussi réalisé les couvertures de nombreux livres aussi bien français qu’anglais. Ses oeuvres ont d’ailleurs été publiées dans de nombreux ouvrages et son propre artbook « Structura – The art of Sparth » est un véritable succès. C’est donc avec un immense plaisir que nous lui avons posé quelques questions !

Nicolas Bouvier - SparthComment vous est venu cette passion pour l’illustration et la peinture et quelles études avez-vous faites pour en arriver là ?
Je dessine depuis que je suis tout petit. A partir de 5 ans je mettais en place des histoires accompagnées de textes simples. C’était le plus souvent animalier, avec des oiseaux et des petits cochons. Ne me demandez pas pourquoi des petits cochons, je serais incapable de m’en souvenir.

A partir de la il s’est en effet avéré que la seule chose qui me passionnait était le dessin, j’avais pour tout le reste une attitude plutôt neutre et réservée. Ce n’est que bien plus tard, vers les 15 ans, que je me suis ouvert un peu plus sur le monde, et que j’ai progressivement découvert ce que j’aimais ou n’aimais pas, ce qui me faisait vibrer. Dans mes souvenirs, je dirais que tout ce processus a pris du temps. Je devais me trouver, comme bon nombre d’entre nous au même age, et ce n’est qu’a l’adolescence que je pense être véritablement devenu quelqu’un de passionné.

Malgré cette attitude un peu introvertie, j’ai quand même eu la chance énorme d’avoir des parents qui bougeaient d’un pays à l’autre, et ces migrations n’ont pas du me laisser indifférent que ce soit sur le plan culturel et artistique. Mais ce n’est que plus tard que j’ai réalisé l’impact que ces itinérances ont eu sur moi.
Apres un bac philosophique en 1989 j’ai passé une année préparatoire à l’Atelier de Sèvres, et j’ai intégré l’ENSAD les arts décoratifs l’année d’après.

“Je m’immerge mentalement afin de ne plus penser qu’à l’univers que je décris. Je le vis presque émotionnellement, et la musique joue un rôle énorme dans ce processus.”

Quelles sont vos principales sources d’inspiration ? En quoi les voyages que vous avez effectués sont-ils si importants ?
Quand on est gamin on retient tout : les détails qui nous entourent, les couleurs, les sons, les odeurs. Le cerveau est en mode apprentissage je suppose, encore plus qu’à l’âge adulte. Je me souviens par exemple à 12 ou 13 ans, d’avoir soulevé une pierre sur le sol poussiéreux de Bali, pendant que mes parents regardaient une crémation. Sur cette pierre il y avait un scorpion et je l’ai donc jeté au loin très vite. Quelques minutes plus tard je trouvais un gros billet par terre pendant que la crémation continuait. Je voyais les choses à mon niveau, celui du sol.
Si je me souviens bien, on brulait le corps d’un personnage important. Des hommes portaient une sorte d’énorme palanquin, effectuaient d’énormes cercles avec, en chantant. Plus tard ils le brulèrent, selon la tradition de l’ile. C’était impressionnant.

Tout ces détails, petits et gros, sont toujours la, années après années. Et ce n’est la qu’un exemple. Mais la vie n’est faite que d’événements comme celui-ci, d’autant plus lorsque l’on change de pays plusieurs fois.

Je pense sincèrement que notre sensibilité artistique est la conséquence de toutes ces années d’observation et d’apprentissage. Maintenant bien sur, d’un point de vue plus actuel, mes sources d’inspiration sont multiples. De John Berkey en passant par Vangelis, je me nourris d’images et de sons au jour le jour, et cela d’autant plus vite que le monde va plus vite.

Vous-êtes passé de l’univers sombre et cauchemardesque d’Alone in The Dark à l’époque médiévale et ensoleillée d’Assassin’s Creed. Quel est votre secret pour vous adapter à des projets si différents ? Quelle est votre technique pour vous immerger dans un univers ?
Le Concept design s’adapte à n’importe quel univers puisque les règles graphiques afin de produire des images de qualités sont les mêmes. Lorsque l’on sait ce que sont des couleurs complémentaires, ou comment élaborer des directions visuelles dans ses images, on peut se permettre d’extrapoler ces règles à tous les univers, sans aucune limites. La connaissance de l’anatomie et de la perspective sont bien deux des conditions majeures, à savoir que pour les deux disciplines, l’apprentissage ne se termine jamais. C’est, je pense, une position très saine à toujours conserver.

Bien sur j’ai mes préférences : la science fiction et la dépitions de l’Espace sous toutes ses formes sont deux choses qui me fascinent, et j’ai également une passion totalement déraisonnable pour l’univers de Blade runner et d’Alien, tout deux de Ridley Scott. Mais j’aime également passionnément les univers post-apocalyptiques. J’ai d’ailleurs travaillé sur le projet Rage de IDsoftware à Dallas, de 2005 à 2008 : un univers totalement « post apo » si je puis dire. Là encore les possibilités sont infinies.

A noter aussi que lorsque je crée, je « vis » mon image. Je m’immerge mentalement afin de ne plus penser qu’à l’univers que je décris. Je le vis presque émotionnellement, et la musique joue un rôle énorme dans ce processus.

“Lorsque l’on sait ce que sont des couleurs complémentaires, ou comment élaborer des directions visuelles dans ses images, on peut se permettre d’extrapoler ces règles à tous les univers, sans aucune limites. ”

En tant que lead artist ou concept artist, quel est votre rôle précis dans le développement d’un projet ? Votre job se termine t-il assez tôt dans le processus de création ou perdure t-il jusqu’à son aboutissement ?
Le Lead artist est souvent la personne sur laquelle les directeurs artistique et créatifs s’appuient afin de matérialiser leurs idées sur écran. Il doit pour cela connaître les intentions du projet en cours, et les besoins qui en découlent. Lorsque certains éléments du scenario ou du game design sont décidés, le concept artist est également là pour faire en sorte que ces concepts prennent vie, visuellement parlant. Cela implique des sketches rapides en noir et blanc, des story board, des idées de personnages, des idées rapides de gameplay mis sur papier, etc…

En théorie on joue toujours un rôle dans les deux premier tiers d’une production de jeu, ainsi que pendant toute la période de pré-prod, cela va de soi. Mais il arrive souvent aussi que l’on ai besoin des concept artists jusqu’aux tous derniers jours et au delà, surtout pour les besoins en marketing correspondant aux périodes de sortie des jeux : couvertures de magazines de jeu, interviews et making of, etc.

Le domaine du jeu vidéo semble vous tenir à cœur. N’avez-vous pas envie d’explorer des milieux totalement différents à l’avenir ?
J’ai souvent voulu explorer d’autres univers tel que le cinéma, et je l’ai d’ailleurs fait plusieurs fois pour des productions ponctuelles. Mais j’ai toujours refusé de travailler sur des productions plus longues car la plupart du temps cela implique une inadéquation totale avec le rythme d’une vie de famille. Sur ce niveau la, l’industrie du jeu vidéo est plus stable, non seulement au niveau des horaires, mais aussi financièrement. J’ai trois enfants, et m’éloigner pendant plusieurs mois d’affilés pour un tournage me parait hautement impossible.
L’année dernière j’étais en contact avec Dreamworks que je suis allé voir a Glendale en Californie, et bien que j’aurais été très enthousiaste de les rejoindre, on a donc convenu avec ma femme qu’il était préférable de ne pas déménager sur Los Angeles. Nous avons préféré Seattle où nous vivons depuis janvier 2009, et nous y sommes très heureux. L’état de Washington est extrêmement vert et la nature est ici partout.

“Acquérir de bonnes capacités de jugement et savoir exprimer clairement ses idées sont des concepts tout aussi importants que de bien réaliser une illustration pour un client.”

Est-il facile d’entrer dans le milieu du jeu vidéo en tant qu’illustrateur ? Quelles sont les qualités requises ?
Pour être honnête, en 1996 lorsque j’ai commencé, ce corps de métiers était tellement nouveau qu’il serait difficile de comparer avec la période actuelle. A l’époque, l’industrie du jeu en France était maladroitement liée aux métiers du multimédia et du support CD-rom (le mot aujourd’hui prête à sourire je l’avoue), et souvent les artistes qui proposaient leur services faisaient partie du monde de la BD.

Aujourd’hui le problème découle plus du fait que les places sont rares pour un métier qui a trouvé sa place et qui s’est professionnalisé avec le temps. Les studios de jeu en France restent rares, et de fait beaucoup de jeunes concept artists tentent leur chance en Amérique du Nord ou dans d’autres parties de l’Europe. Mais les artistes français sont bien là et leur originalité est véritablement reconnue, non seulement en France mais aussi à l’étranger.

Je pense que les meilleurs artistes qui ont intégrés le monde du jeu vidéo aujourd’hui sont ceux qui ont pu bénéficier des techniques traditionnelles et qui sont progressivement passés au numérique pour les besoins du métier. Mais ce qui est peut être tout aussi important aujourd’hui, c’est de savoir, en tant qu’artiste, s’intégrer intelligemment dans les compagnies qui nous embauchent et qui ont besoin de nos services. Acquérir de bonnes capacités de jugement et savoir exprimer clairement ses idées sont des concepts tout aussi importants que de bien réaliser une illustration pour un client.

Merci beaucoup de nous avoir accordé cette interview.
Merci à vous.

Découvrez vite le portfolio de Nicolas Bouvier et n’hésitez pas à vous procurer son artbook « Structura – The art of Sparth ».

30 people appreciate this post.
Partager cet article
  • http://devilminer.com Miguel Lopez

    Incredible work, Sir Sparth. Thank you and hope you never stop inspiring us.

  • Daniel

    This is sure great work, and i want to even learn to draw this myself as a hobby.

    I really hope you will post more work in the feature.

We Love Webdesign #261

14/09/2014  /  We Love Webdesign #261