Wallpapers
Sculpture
Street Art
Traditional painting
Traditional drawing
Advertising
Craft Store
Published 23 May 2012 by Nicolas
Illustration

Interview Benoit Ferrière, illustrator/co-owner Tokkun Studio

llustrator, 3D artist but also co-owner of the excellent Tokkun Studio, Benoit Ferrière answered our questions for this interview. He told us about his passion, his anecdotes and gave us his opinion about art in the entertainment industry

Benoit FerriereHello Benoit. A classic question to begin this interview: can you present yourself in a few words?

My name is Benoit FERRIERE. I’m co-owner of a society called Tokkun Studio and also a Freelance 2D/3D senior artist. I mainly work for the videogame and movie industries at a worldwide scale.

How did you come to illustration and 3D? To what extent these two domains are connected?

It all started when I met my best friend, Adrien. He was only 8 but he already had a certain aura, a certain charisma and a real talent for drawing considering his age. I was jealous and fascinated at the same time! Our dreams and lives quickly linked to each other: we’d both become “cartoonist” in the future. We admired the work of our idols in Spirou, Fluide glacial, Tintin Magazine, etc. and we quickly started working together on small projects (including a cartoon when we were 12 that enabled us to buy some new Nintendo 64 games ah ah!). Sadly as his life stopped during his childhood, I was sorely forced to continue on this path alone. One thing leading to another, I became kind of an “art bulimic”. I was devouring everything related to painting, animated films, photography and sculptures. This, with headphones in my ears 24/7. It irritated my dad.

At 17 I got my baccalaureate in the field of engineering science. Then I pursued a multimedia course in a generalist school with David Pernicci (my acolyte for life and future co-owner of Tokkun Studio) hoping to practice academic drawing and 3D in a professional way. Unfortunately, the school wasn’t what I expected and I didn’t get any drawing lessons in two years. So I managed to learn by myself, mainly through incredible books and forums (cgtalk, conceptart, cfsl, sijun, etc.).

My first mission as an Environment artist, on an Xbox project with Rodolphe Recca, has immediately made me understand the singular link between 3D and 2D in videogame. It’s true that making the most aesthetic and realistic image as possible is important but it is not just that. In fact, 99% of 2D works are just bases for 3D artists. From that they can model, texture, animate and integrate lights and interactive in-game events. So you have to think of interactivity and efficiency for the 3D artists. You have to think about materials, scales, and the point of view on your works. The 3D designer who will use your work must understand it at first sight.

Simple example: For a character design, we create a board with face, profile, back and three-quarter profile along with another illustration « in situation » to give all the necessary tools for a good in-game reproduction.

“ One thing leading to another, I became kind of an “art bulimic”. I was devouring everything related to painting, animated films, photography and sculptures. ”

How do you define your drawing style? Do you have a favorite universe?

My personnal universe has been defined yet. I’m far from mature technically and aesthetically speaking. According to the missions, I switch from photo-realism for a FPS to a style closer to game like Darksiders/Borderland for a car battle game. Then I continue with other styles which are more animation oriented close to Disney or Dreamworks movies… I try to technically improve myself through these different projects and at the same time I focus on universe to render what I like the most. This is the advantage of being an Art Director, I can build graphical universes that speak to me.

Which artists are you inspired by?

I am inspired by lots of them. It goes from Black Frog, Craig Mullins, Paul Lasaine, Disney, Steambot to Monet, Boudin, Manet and Van Gogh… I am mostly influenced by artists of the Impressionism movement.

You have the chance to work on massive projects, mainly in the entertainment industry. What types of projects do you prefer working on?

I prefer working on moving projects, those which make you feel something real. For example, I would have loved working on the last Deus Ex, on Journey, the first Metal Gear, Final Fantasy 7, Ico, The Last Guardian, etc…

I am also very fond of movies, comic strips, manga and animation films. To be honest I like every kind of media. However, I really need to feel the deep emotion behind a project to be happy working on it.

Can you name three of your personal projects that you are the most proud of?

First, there is the creation of Tokkun Studio in collaboration with David Pernicci of course! Having senior artists of the industry working everyday together on emulating projects is an absolute pleasure.
Then, there are two other projects. One of them is Tokkun Academy which just started. The other one is a surprise you will discover soon.

“ To be honest I like every kind of media. However, I really need to feel the deep emotion behind a project to be happy working on it. ”

Let’s talk about the studio you founded (Tokkun Studio): where does the idea come from? What are the specialties of the studio and its upcoming projects?

I think that most of the artists would like to create their own studio. This idea probably came to me a day while I was playing a game that made me stirred or when I was watching a spectacular movie. I told myself “Someday, I will do that too.” Nothing really impressive to be honest.

I also grew up with Disney’s movies. You know, you can only be filled with wonder when you see the talent and the passion invested in those films! You want it to be your turn to reproduce the feat by participating to those productions or by producing modest ones yourself, keeping the hope that you will provide emotions as well.

Tokkun Studio has this aptitude for gathering talented people coming from all over the world with a huge experience in the entertainment industry to create artistic universes of a high level. Tokkun means “practice” in Japanese. We try to improve ourselves everyday working a lot to produce something that can reach your feelings. Part of the studio is allocated to the subcontracting work while the other is dedicated to internal productions. We put all chance on our side doing this step by step, saving enough money to launch several little projects and one big project every two years. We are currently working on small projects such as Balroth, Slash Monsters, Tokkun Academy, etc.) and at the same time we create a Next Gen FPS running on UDK which will be released on Steam.

Subcontracting allows us to participate permanently to large-scale projects for Warner, Pixar , etc. It’s really exciting! This generates enough funds to finance our intern projects and improve the experience of each members of our team. We are proud that we’ve never asked for a loan or help since we started with only 10 000 €.

What are the things to avoid if you want to successfully launch a studio and keep it living on long-term?

The main risk at the beginning is to see too big. You always need to cover your back, play safe and move ahead step by step. Impose your style, your savoir-faire and secure the loyalty of your clients and customers.

Since the beginning of my career, I’ve seen dozens of compulsory liquidations in the videogames industry. Sometimes it happens because of the publishers, sometimes because of the investors, but it is mainly due to a lack of patience and caution.

“ The aesthetic universe of Japan is fascinating. The cult of simplicity mixed with the absolute elegance of each line makes me dream. ”

What are your personals goals and the ones for Tokkun Studio in the next years?

Professionally speaking I would like to do three things:
- To be the Art Director of a project which is really memorable in terms of emotion (in the cinema or videogame industry).
- To create a BD or a Manga.
- To be the Art Director of an animated cartoon.

Concerning Tokkun Studio the goals are:
- To produce a large-scale project
- To create the premises of Tokkun Academy in Corsica and make it a reputable school
- To improve the international aura of the company.

Finally and also because we know you currently live in Japan, could you tell us a few words about the Japanese visual culture? Is there a clear Japanese style?

Surprisingly, the majority of occidental artists have a passion for Japan. And I understand them because the aesthetic universe of Japan is fascinating. The cult of simplicity mixed with the absolute elegance of each line makes me dream.

Yes there is actually a Japanese style. It’s not rare that I discuss of the style to adopt for a new project so I know if we start on a Japanese aesthetic, an occidental one or an American one. A great example is the game Darksides for which it has been decided to mix both Japanese and American graphical codes in a single project. And I have to admit this was pretty cool!

It’s been six months now that I live in Japan with Sophie, my better half and it’s a constant eye-awakening for both of us. I honestly wouldn’t know what else to add here without taking at least 10 mores pages. There are so many beautiful things to see and say about Japan.

Thanks for this interview.

Thank you! It was a pleasure. And I love Art-Spire.

Discover the portfolio of Benoit Ferriere, the website of Tokkun Studio and Tokkun Academy.

24 people appreciate this post.
Share this article
JD Ardiansyah – Fish Trap

01/09/2014  /  JD Ardiansyah – Fish Trap

We Love Webdesign #259

31/08/2014  /  We Love Webdesign #259

TeiIku – Bran Stark

31/08/2014  /  TeiIku – Bran Stark

casinos for usa players 15 line slots bonus rounds no download casino progressive slots casino best blackjack bonuses casino loyalty club http://blackjackforusplayers.org casinos online for real money us newusacasinos.org

Interview Benoit Ferrière, illustrateur/co-gérant Tokkun Studio

Illustrateur, artiste 3D mais aussi co-gérant de l’excellent Tokkun Studio, Benoit Ferrière a répondu à nos questions. Il nous raconte sa passion, ses anecdotes et nous donne son avis sur l’art dans l’industrie du divertissement culturel.

Benoit FerriereSalut Benoit. Allez le grand classique pour commencer : peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

Je m’appelle Benoit FERRIERE et suis co-gérant de la société Tokkun Studio mais aussi Freelance senior artist 2D/3D. Je travaille principalement dans le jeu vidéo et le cinéma.

Comment es-tu venu à l’illustration et à la 3D ? Jusqu’à quel niveau ces deux domaines sont liés ?

Tout a démarré je pense lorsque j’ai rencontré mon meilleur ami Adrien. A 8 ans il avait déjà une certaine aura, un certain charisme et un grand talent en dessin pour son âge. J’étais jaloux et fasciné à la fois haha. Nos rêves et nos vies se sont rapidement liés : plus tard nous serions « dessinateur de BD ». Nous admirions le travail de nos idoles dans Spirou, Fluide glacial, le journal de Tintin, … et nous avons vite commencé à faire de petits projets ensemble (dont une BD à 12 ans qui nous avait permis de nous payer quelques nouveaux jeux sur Nintendo 64 haha). Sa vie s’étant malheureusement arrêtée durant l’enfance, j’ai été difficilement contraint de continuer seul dans cette voie. De fil en aiguille, je suis devenu en quelque sorte « boulimique » du monde de l’art et dévorais tout ce que je pouvais en termes de tableaux, films d’animations, photographies, ou autre sculptures. Le tout avec un casque sur les oreilles 24h/24 ce qui agaçait particulièrement mon père.

Mon bac science de l’ingénieur en poche à 17 ans, je me suis tourné vers une école généraliste dans le milieu du multimédia avec David Pernicci (mon acolyte pour la vie et futur co-gérant de Tokkun Studio) en pensant pouvoir enfin m’exercer au dessin académique et à la 3D de manière professionnelle. Malheureusement, l’enseignement n’était pas au niveau de mes espérances (pas un seul cours de dessin en deux ans). J’ai donc du me débrouiller seul pour apprendre, principalement par le biais de livres formidables et de forums (cgtalk, conceptart, cfsl, sijun, etc.).

Ma première mission en tant qu’environment artist sur un projet Xbox avec Rodolphe Recca m’a tout de suite permis de comprendre la liaison singulière entre la 3D et la 2D dans le milieu du jeu vidéo. Il ne faut pas simplement penser à concevoir l’image la plus esthétique ou la plus réaliste. En effet 99% des travaux en 2D ne serviront que de base pour que des graphistes 3D les modélisent, texturent, animent, et intègrent avec des lumières et évènements interactifs in-game. Il faut donc penser interactivité, mais aussi efficacité pour les artistes 3D. Penser aux matières, aux échelles, à l’angle de caméra, etc. pour faire en sorte que les graphistes qui vont reprendre vos travaux puissent les comprendre d’un seul regard.

Pour un character design, on réalise donc par exemple une planche face/profil/dos/trois-quarts en plus d’une illustration de mise en situation pour donner tous les outils nécessaires à une bonne reproduction in-game.

“ De fil en aiguille, je suis devenu en quelque sorte « boulimique » du monde de l’art et dévorais tout ce que je pouvais en termes de tableaux, films d’animations, photographies, ou autre sculptures. ”

Comment définirais-tu ton style de dessin ? As-tu un univers favori ?

Mon univers n’est pas encore réellement défini. Je suis loin d’être « mature » techniquement et artistiquement. Suivant les missions je passe du photo-réalisme pour un FPS, à un style plus proche de Darksiders/Borderland pour enchainer sur un style plus proche de l’animation type Disney/Dreamworks pour un autre encore… J’essai principalement de m’améliorer techniquement par le biais des différents projets tout en allant vers les univers et les rendus qui me plaisent le plus. C’est l’avantage d’être directeur artistique, je peux mettre en place des styles graphiques qui me ressemblent.

Quels artistes t’inspirent le plus ?

Cela va de The Black Frog, Craig Mullins, Paul Lasaine, les artistes Disney ou même Steambot à Monet, Boudin, Manet et Van Gogh… Le courant impressionniste principalement.

Tu as la chance de travailler sur de gros projets, notamment dans l’industrie du divertissement, quels sont les types de projets sur lesquels tu préfères travailler ?

Les projets émouvants. Quel que soit l’émotion, mais les projets qui font passer quelque chose. J’aurais par exemple adoré travailler sur le dernier Deus Ex, sur Journey ou le premier Metal Gear, Final Fantasy 7, Ico, The Last Guardian, etc.

Après j’adore le cinéma, la BD, le manga et l’animation… franchement je n’ai aucune préférence en terme de média… Mais il faut qu’il y ait une émotion forte derrière le projet pour que je me sente vraiment heureux pendant la production !

Si tu devais choisir les trois projets dont tu es le plus fier dans ta carrière, lesquels se seraient ?

Avoir créé Tokkun Studio avec David Pernicci évidemment ! Réunir des seniors de l’industrie pour travailler sur des projets émulant est un bonheur sans nom chaque jour.
Ensuite je pense à deux projets dont Tokkun Academy qui vient juste de démarrer et une autre surprise que vous découvrirez très bientôt :)

“ Franchement je n’ai aucune préférence en terme de média… Mais il faut qu’il y ait une émotion forte derrière le projet pour que je me sente vraiment heureux pendant la production ! ”

Parles-nous un peu du studio que tu as fondé (Tokkun Studio) : comment l’idée t’es t’elle venue ? Quels sont les spécialités du studio et ses projets à venir ?

Je pense que la plupart des artistes ont envie de fonder leur propre studio. L’idée m’est sans doute venue pendant que je jouais à un jeu qui m’a fait vibrer, ou pendant que je regardais un film à grand spectacle… « un jour je ferais ça ! ». Rien de très impressionnant, je vous assure.

J’ai aussi été élevé au Disney. Mine de rien, vu le talent investi dans chaque film, il y a de quoi être émerveillé et vouloir reproduire l’exploit à son tour ! En participant à de telles productions ou en en faisant soit même de plus modestes tout en gardant l’espoir de procurer quelques émotions également !

Tokkun Studio a cette vocation, réunir des gens de talents, venant du monde entier, avec une grande expérience du divertissement pour réaliser des univers artistiques haut de gamme. Tokkun signifie entrainement en japonais. Nous essayons de nous améliorer chaque jour en travaillant d’arrache pied pour fournir un travail qui pourrait vous toucher. Nous avons donc une partie de l’entreprise qui est allouée au monde de la sous-traitance et l’autre qui se consacre à des productions internes. Nous mettons toutes les chances de notre côté en faisant cela pas à pas, en économisant assez de trésorerie pour lancer plusieurs petites productions en plus d’un projet d’envergure tous les deux ans environ. En ce moment nous travaillons par exemple sur plusieurs petits projets (Balroth, Slash Monsters, Tokkun Academy, etc.) tous en préparant un FPS Next Gen sous UDK prévu sur Steam.

La sous-traitance nous permet ainsi de participer constamment à des projets d’envergures pour Warner, Pixar, etc. vraiment très intéressants ! Tout en générant une trésorerie qui finance nos projets internes et augmente l’expérience de chacun des membres de notre équipe. Nous avons la fierté de n’avoir jamais demandé un seul prêt ou aide qu’elle quelle soit et en ayant démarré avec seulement 10.000 €.

Quels sont les pièges à éviter pour réussir à lancer son studio et le faire perdurer à travers le temps ?

Le risque est tout simplement de voir trop gros au départ. Je pense qu’il faut toujours assurer ses arrières, jouer la prudence et avancer pas à pas. Imposer son style, imposer son savoir-faire et fidéliser ses joueurs / clients de sous-traitances.

Depuis le début de ma carrière, rien que dans le jeu vidéo j’ai assisté à des dizaines de liquidations de studios. Parfois à cause des éditeurs, parfois à cause des investisseurs, mais souvent par manque de patience et de prudence.

“ L’univers esthétique du japon est fascinant. Le culte de la simplicité mixé à l’élégance absolue de chaque trait me laisse rêveur. ”

Quels sont tes objectifs personnels et ceux de Tokkun Studio pour les années à venir ?

Professionnellement j’aimerais faire 3 choses :
- Etre DA sur un projet réellement marquant niveau émotion, quelque soit le support (cinéma/jeu vidéo).
- Faire une BD ou un Manga.
- Etre DA sur un projet de dessin animé.

Pour Tokkun Studio :
- Développer un projet de grande envergue.
- Créer les locaux de Tokkun Academy en Corse et en faire une école réputée.
- Augmenter l’aura internationale de la société.

Tu es depuis quelques mois au Japon. Un petit mot sur la culture visuelle japonaise ? Il semble clairement y avoir un « style japonais » non ?

Etonnamment le Japon passionne la plupart des artistes occidentaux… et je les comprends car l’univers esthétique du japon est fascinant. Le culte de la simplicité mixé à l’élégance absolue de chaque trait me laisse rêveur.

Il y a effectivement un style japonais. Il m’est souvent arrivé de discuter du style d’un futur projet pour savoir si nous partions sur une esthétique plus japonaise, plus européenne ou plus américaine. Un bon exemple est le jeu vidéo Darksiders qui a décidé de mixer les codes graphiques japonais et américains dans un seul et même projet, et ma foi c’est plutôt cool :)
Je suis maintenant au Japon depuis presque 6 mois avec Sophie ma moitié, et c’est un réveil des yeux constant pour nous deux. Franchement je ne saurais pas quoi dire d’autre sans m’étaler sur 10 pages tant il y a de belles choses à voir ici.

Merci beaucoup pour cette interview.

Merci à toi ! C’était vraiment un plaisir. Et j’adore Art-Spire.

Découvrez le portfolio de Benoit Ferriere, le site de Tokkun Studio et celui de Tokkun Academy.

Publié le 23 mai 2012
par Nicolas
Catégorie(s)
Illustration

Recent

Popular