Français
Web design01.05.2010

Interview of Kiluka, the Swiss designer on the rise

Interview of Kiluka, the Swiss designer on the rise

Loïc “Kiluka” Dupasquier is a 20 years-old Swiss designer specialized in web. The stunning quality of his works has been recently reward by a prestigious FWA. Meet an artist which has a bright future ahead of him.

Loïc Dupasquier - KilukaHi Loïc! A very classical question to begin: can you introduce yourself in a few lines?

Hi Nico !

So first of all I’m Loïc Dupasquier but I prefer my pseudonym, Kiluka. I’m a 20 years-old young Swiss designer and I’ve just finished my 8 months internship at Fcinq as part of my studies in art and multimedia that I will also finish soon.

Tell us about your studies in Eikon School in Switzerland. What do you learn? What are its strong and weak points?

It’s a kind of “holdall” of design, knowing that we learn almost every domain. I’ve personally learned graphic, illustration, photography, video, 3D, motion, typography, webdesign, history of art and even a bit of marketing.

The advantage is clear: we learn about everything, which enable us to know the exact role of each person we are working with. Moreover, you can do several jobs; you have more possibilities for your projects.

But learning everything has also weak points, because at the end you have the bases in every domain but you’re not really good at one. At least you’re not good as a specialized person can be. The solution is to work a lot personally outside school or in your internship to reach a higher level and succeed in being a specialist in a particular field.

Where does your idea of putting yourself with different looks in the spotlight on your portfolio come from?

When finishing the design of my website, I told myself that integrating a video in the background can be very cool. I’ve received remarks from many friends about the website. They said that it doesn’t really represent my personality. So I had the idea to integrate myself in the background in different ways that show who I am really. All I need was one or two lights and a Canon SLR to film that and that was it!

“I finally choose the two headed eagle because it is the one which best represents the designers qualities: freedom, flexibility, open-mindedness and efficiency.”

What is represented in your logo? What notions have you tried to transmit through this one?

I was looking for a logo, but I wanted something non temporal, a symbol without typography. As a result I thought of the coat of arms from the middle ages and I finally choose the two headed eagle because it is the one which best represents the designers qualities: freedom, flexibility, open-mindedness and efficiency.

Your portfolio has been featured by the prestigious FWA, you are probably one on the youngest selected designer, aren’t you?

I think I’ve seen that the youngest is 15 years old, but honestly I don’t care if I am the youngest or not. I have time ahead of me and the fact that I win a FWA motivates me even more for the future !

The Motion Design is very popular nowadays and websites have also more and more animations, sometimes videos. Do you think that “static” websites are going to disappear?

We will always need “static” websites, like blogs or informational websites. Besides, it is very easy to integrate some Javascript to make a living website. Now, we see websites, for example Momkai, that look like flash ones but which have only animations in JavaScript. It’s a good thing to see websites “moving” more and more!

As you mainly work on Flash websites, do you have something to answer to Steve Jobs who thinks that this technology is outdated and will soon disappear?

I piss Steve Jobs off. More seriously, he turns his nose up at Flash because they are too proprietary, but everyone knows that Apple is one on the worst firms on the market when we speak about property.

I honestly think that the current industry still needs Flash and until a real alternative appears, no one is going to give up Flash. HTML 5 is a draft of what can replace Flash one day, but we have to wait one or two years for it.

“I honestly think that the current industry still needs Flash and until a real alternative appears, no one is going to give up Flash.”

In your opinion, what are your main qualities and defaults?

Hum… Joker? It will be better to ask the people around me for the defaults. Concerning my qualities I will say open-mindedness, ambition, creativity and passion.

In which agency do you dream to work on in the future?

North Kingdom, Firstborn, Big Spaceship, Fantasy Interactive, or even Tha Ltd in order to learn the Japanese simplicity.

Do you have specific sources of inspiration or will you answer that “everything inspire you” like most of the artist do?

Everything inspire me, seriously! I take a lot of time to observe, analyze, think and imagine with everything around me.

For you, the photography is a real passion or just a hobby like the others?

It’s a real passion! The hardest part is to find the time to retouch these because I often spend a lot of hours on this before obtaining the researched result. I’m hard on my photos.

If you weren’t a webdesigner, what will you be?

Industrial designer, typographer, fashion designer or musician.

Anything else?

A little big up to the entire team and to all the formers of Fcinq, to Vincent who has coded my website, to Julien and Giannina of Media8, to my class buddies, to everyone I love, my friends, my family and to the people who follow me on Twitter !

Thanks a lot for this interview.

Give us your opinion Leave a comment
Leave a comment :)




Partager

Articles récents

Mind-blowing 3D chess game by Wojciech Magierski 3D19.06.2019

Mind-blowing 3D chess game by Wojciech Magierski

Wojciech Magierski is a Polish artist known for his top notch 3D works. His creativity and attention to detail are impressive.  Today we feature his incredible dark chess game where death is everywhere. All the...

Deconstructed : a series of beautiful portraits by Elena Iv-skaya Photography11.06.2019

Deconstructed : a series of beautiful portraits by Elena Iv-skaya

Elena Iv-skaya is a photographer born in Russia and currently living in Reunion Island. This artist is well-known worldwide for her creative woman portraits. She’s inspired by her models and feminine elegance. Her unique style...

Fascinating characters by Tomas Duchek Illustration09.06.2019

Fascinating characters by Tomas Duchek

Today we travel back in time to the medieval era with the beautiful digital paintings of Tomas Duchek. This Czech artist worked for 5 years on the excellent videogame Kingdom Come : Deliverance (created by...

Impressive paintings by LiGang Zheng Illustration, Traditional Painting07.12.2018

Impressive paintings by LiGang Zheng

You probably never heard about LiGang Zheng but you should definitely remember his name starting today. He is one of these gifted young artists who developed an amazing passion as well as an incredible talent...

English
Web design01.05.2010

Interview de Kiluka, le designer Suisse qui monte

Interview de Kiluka, le designer Suisse qui monte

Loïc « Kiluka » Dupasquier est un jeune designer Suisse de 20 ans spécialisé dans le web. La qualité remarquable de ses productions lui a récemment valu un prestigieux FWA. Rencontre avec un artiste qui a de l’avenir !

Loïc Dupasquier - KilukaSalut Loïc ! Une question classique mais obligatoire pour commencer : peux-tu te présenter en quelques lignes ?

Hello Nico !

Donc pour commencer, je m’appelle Loïc Dupasquier, mais je préfère mon pseudonyme, Kiluka. Je suis un jeune designer Suisse de 20 ans, et je viens de finir mes 8 mois à Fcinq dans le cadre de mes études d’art et de multimédia que je fini aussi très bientôt.

Parle-nous un peu des tes études à l’école Eikon en Suisse. Qu’y apprends-tu ? Quels sont ses points forts et faibles ?

C’est un peu un ”fourre-tout” du design, sachant qu’on y apprend presque tout les domaines. J’y ai appris le graphisme, l’illustration, la photographie, la vidéo, la 3D, le motion, la typographie, le webdesign l’histoire de l’art, ainsi qu’un poil de marketing.

L’avantage est clair, on apprend de tout, ce qui nous permet par après de savoir clairement le rôle de chaque personne avec qui tu travailles. Et tu es plus polyvalent, tu as plus de possibilités pour tes projets.

Mais bon, apprendre tout n’a pas que du bon, car au final tu as les bases partout, mais tu n’es pas réellement bon, du moins pas autant qu’un personne spécialisée. La solution reste d’énormément bosser en dehors ou dans son stage pour arriver à un bon niveau et réussir à se spécialiser dans un domaine en particulier !

D’où te viens l’idée de t’être mis en scène toi-même avec différents looks pour ton portfolio ?

En finissant le design de mon site, je me suis dit qu’une vidéo dans le fond pourrait être vraiment cool. J’avais eu plusieurs remarques de potes qui disaient que le site ne reflétais pas vraiment ma personnalité, j’ai donc eu l’idée de m’intégrer dans le fond de différentes manières qui refléteraient vraiment qui je suis ! Il m’a suffit d’une ou deux lumières ainsi que d’un reflex Canon pour filmer le tout et le tour était joué.

“J’ai finalement choisi l’aigle à deux têtes car c’est celui qui représentais le mieux les qualités d’un designer : liberté, polyvalence, diversité d’esprit et efficacité.”

Que représente ton logo exactement ? Quelles notions as-tu voulu transmettre à travers celui-ci ?

Je cherchais un logo, mais je voulais plutôt quelque chose de non temporel, un symbole dénué de typo. Du coup j’ai pensé aux différents blasons du moyen âge, et j’ai finalement choisi l’aigle à deux têtes car c’est celui qui représentais le mieux les qualités d’un designer : liberté, polyvalence, diversité d’esprit et efficacité.

Ton portfolio a été choisi par la prestigieuse FWA, tu dois être l’un des plus jeunes designers à être sélectionné non ?

Il me semble avoir lu que le plus jeune avait 15 ans, mais en fait je dois t’avouer que je m’en fous un peu de savoir si je suis réellement le plus jeune. J’ai du temps devant moi, et le fait d’avoir gagné un FWA me motive encore plus pour l’avenir !

Le motion design est à la mode et les sites web intègrent eux aussi de plus en plus d’animations, voir de vidéos. Penses-tu que les sites « statiques » sont amenés à disparaitre ?

On aura toujours besoin de sites dit ”statiques”, tel que les blogs ou tous les sites d’information. Il est d’ailleurs facile d’y intégrer un peu de Javascript pour le rendre plus vivant, et on commence d’ailleurs à voir des sites (tel que www.momkai.com) comparables à des sites Flash, mais avec les animations entièrement en Javascript. C’est donc une bonne chose de voir que les sites ”bougent” de plus en plus !

“Je pense sincèrement que l’industrie actuelle à encore besoin de Flash, et tant qu’il n’y aura pas une vraie alternative, personne ne le laissera tomber.”

Comme tu travailles beaucoup sur des sites Flash, as-tu quelque chose à dire à Steve Jobs qui pense que cette technologie est dépassée et va bientôt disparaitre ?

J’emmerde Steve Jobs. Plus sincèrement, il crache sur Flash car ils sont trop propriétaires, mais tout le monde sait qu’Apple est l’une des pires marques du marché en parlant de propriété !
Je pense sincèrement que l’industrie actuelle a encore besoin de Flash, et tant qu’il n’y aura pas une vraie alternative, personne ne le laissera tomber. Html5 est une ébauche de ce qui pourrait un jour le remplacer, mais à mon avis il faudra attendre 1-2 années.

Selon toi, quelles sont tes principales qualités et tes principaux défauts ?

Euhhh, joker ? Il faudrait demander aux gens qui m’entourent pour les défauts, mais dans mes qualités, je dirais l’ouverture d’esprit, l’ambition, la créativité, et la passion.

Dans quelle boite rêverais-tu de travailler à l’avenir ?

North Kingdom, Firstborn, Big Spaceship, Fantasy Interactive, ou même Tha Ltd pour apprendre la simplicité japonaise.

As-tu des sources d’inspiration particulières ou bien va tu me dire que « tout t’inspire » comme la plupart des artistes ?

Tout m’inspire, sérieusement. Je passe un temps fou à observer, analyser, penser et imaginer avec tout ce qui m’entoure !

La photographie pour toi c’est une autre vraie passion ou juste un hobby comme un autre ?

C’est une vraie passion ! Le plus dur, c’est de trouver le temps de les retoucher, car j’y passe souvent des heures avant de d’arriver à un résultat qui me plait réellement. Je suis dur envers mes photos !

Si tu n’étais pas webdesigner, quel serait ton métier ?

Designer industriel, typographe, styliste ou musicien.

Autre chose ?

Un petit big up à toute la team et les anciens Fcinq, à Vincent qui a codé mon site, à Julien et Giannina de Media8, à mes potes de classe, à ceux que j’aime, amis et famille, et aux gens qui me suivent sur Twitter !

Merci beaucoup pour cette interview !

Découvrez vite le portfolio de Kiluka et suivez-le sur Twitter !

Qu'en pensez-vous ? Commenter cet article
Commenter cet article :)




Partager

Articles récents

L’incroyable jeu d’échec 3D de Wojciech Magierski 3D19.06.2019

L’incroyable jeu d’échec 3D de Wojciech Magierski

Wojciech Magierski est un artiste polonais auteur de réalisations 3D de très haut niveau. Sa créativité et son soucis du détail sont toujours impressionnantes à voir. Aujourd’hui nous vous présentons son incroyable jeu d’échec autour...

Deconstructed : une série de sublimes portraits par Elena Iv-skaya Photographie11.06.2019

Deconstructed : une série de sublimes portraits par Elena Iv-skaya

Elena Iv-skaya est une photographe d’origine Russe vivant actuellement à La Réunion. Cette artiste s’est fait un nom mondialement grâce à ses portraits de femme très créatifs. Inspirée par ses modèles et leur féminité, elle...

Les fascinants personnages de Tomas Duchek Illustration09.06.2019

Les fascinants personnages de Tomas Duchek

Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui de retourner à l’époque médiévale avec les superbes peintures digitales de Tomas Duchek. Cet artiste Tchèque a travaillé pendant 5 ans sur l’excellent jeu Kingdom Come : Deliverance, créé par Warhorse...

Les peintures impressionnantes de LiGang Zheng Illustration, Peinture traditionnelle07.12.2018

Les peintures impressionnantes de LiGang Zheng

Vous n’avez probablement jamais entendu parler de LiGang Zheng mais vous devriez certainement retenir ce nom à partir d’aujourd’hui. Il est l’un de ces jeunes artistes surdoués et passionnés aussi à l’aise avec la peinture...