Français
Graphic design, Illustration19.07.2010

Interview Josiah Jost : the master of logos

Interview Josiah Jost : the master of logos

Josiah Jost is a 22 years-old Canadian artist currently living in Milk River, Alberta. He specializes in logo design and his work has been awarded many times! We had the opportunity to ask him some questions.

Josiah JostFirst of all, can you introduce yourself in a few words?

My name is Josiah Jost but my friends have called me Siah (sigh-ah) for as long as I can remember. I freelance under my company Siah Design and have a passion for branding and identity. I love people and enjoy working with clients all over the world. My faith in Jesus Christ is of utmost importance for me. My love for sports is balanced by a weakness for indulging in pastas and ice cream.

When did you start being interested in art and design?

Since I was very young, I’ve really enjoyed analyzing different fields and topics, whether it be businesses, people or culture. Looking back, my hypotheses of an analyzed subject was often incorrect, but I still learned a lot doing it. In my mid-teens, I started to realize how much I enjoyed analyzing design and branding. Since then, the love has continued to grow.

Why have you specialized yourself in logo design?

I would have to say I have a real love for conceptual thinking and having an idea and purpose behind all art. Logo design often requires this type of thinking and then outputting it in it’s most minimalistic form. Hence, one of the reasons I have a passion for logo design.

“In my mid-teens, I started to realize how much I enjoyed analyzing design and branding. Since then, the love has continued to grow.”

Do you think logo design is a full-fledged art?

Absolutely. One of my favourite definitions of art is, “the products of creativity”. Logo design definitely encompasses that definition.

What are the most important points to create a good logo?

It depends if the important points are verbs or adjectives. Important verbs for executing a good logo would be:
– Plan
– Research
– Mind Map
– Sketch

Important adjectives for a logo would be:
– Unique
– Memorable
– Recognizable
– Adaptable

Do you think it is possible to have a good corporate identity without having a good logo?

A logo is the face of a company, and if it says, amateur, messy or unprofessional or does not properly represent the company, it may take a while for the viewer to get over preconceived ideas about the company. So in that sense, the visual identity has a huge impact on the initial perspective of the brand. That being said, a brand is so much more than just a logo design and it is possible to have a successful, positive brand without a great logo. I think of the website Craigslist.com and how successful it’s been in branding pure and simple with no logo.

“A logo is the face of a company, and if it says, amateur, messy or unprofessional or does not properly represent the company, it may take a while for the viewer to get over preconceived ideas about the company.”

Is it always harder to work on a logo in which several words must appear? (compared to logo where only one word must appear)

It usually does take more thinking strategy to get the right composition and visual balance in the case of longer titles. What I find more challenging though is when the client has a parent company logo that they want presented along with the logo I’m designing. I usually feel as though it handcuffs my creativity somewhat.

When you create a logo, do you think about the way it can appear in motion in a website or in a video?

Yes, it’s really important to keep in mind the ways the logo will need to be adapted throughout the brand of the specific identity. If it’s for a film company we need to think about ways it could possibly animated or adapted to a dvd spine. If designing a logo for social site we need to think about ways to adapt it into a 16 by 16 pixel icon, etc.

“If it’s for a film company we need to think about ways it could possibly animated or adapted to a dvd spine.”

Besides logos, what do you love to create?

One of my other passions is music. I play upright bass, electric bass, piano and enjoy messing around on the guitar. I currently play part time for our family band, The Josties (www.josties.com). I also enjoy spending time in the kitchen cooking every once and awhile.

A classic one: where does your inspiration come from?

I wish I could say I had a specific well of inspiration that I go to every time – but finding inspiration really doesn’t have an official solution. I do find, mind mapping and using a thesaurus can really help the thoughts stay on track and stimulate new ideas.

Do you have something to add?

Thanks for the interview!

Discover the portfolio of Josiah Jost and follow him on Twitter.

Give us your opinion Leave a comment
Leave a comment :)




Partager

Articles récents

Impressive paintings by LiGang Zheng Illustration, Traditional Painting07.12.2018

Impressive paintings by LiGang Zheng

You probably never heard about LiGang Zheng but you should definitely remember his name starting today. He is one of these gifted young artists who developed an amazing passion as well as an incredible talent...

Amazing colorful illustrations by Alexandra Zutto Illustration06.10.2018

Amazing colorful illustrations by Alexandra Zutto

Alexandra Zutto is a Russian artist, working as a freelance Illustrator and Designer since 2009. Her style is very interesting. She uses vibrant and contrasted colors, flowing shapes and puts an impressive amount of tiny...

The mind-blowing style of Brian Edward Miller Illustration24.09.2018

The mind-blowing style of Brian Edward Miller

Brian Edward Miller is one of those artists whose style is immediatly recognizable. This American illustrator based in Colorado caught our eyes. His art works are full of details, well-composed and the colors are really...

Animated Short Film #274 : Un Amour Deux Bêtes 3D, Video21.09.2018

Animated Short Film #274 : Un Amour Deux Bêtes

Rahi, a little merchant, travels peacefully on the back of his large creature in the jungle. When the creature meets for the first time a female of his own species, a breathless pursuit happen. That’s...

Interview Josiah Jost : le maître des logos

Josiah Jost est un artiste canadien de 22 ans résidant à Milk River dans la province de l’Alberta. Il est spécialisé dans la création de logos et son travail a été plusieurs fois récompensé ! Nous avons eu la chance de lui poser quelques questions.

Josiah JostTout d’abord peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

Mon nom est Josiah Jost mais mes amis m’ont toujours appelé Siah (sigh-ah). Je suis freelance avec ma société Siah Design et je me passionne pour le branding et l’identité. J’aime le contact avec les gens et j’adore travailler avec des clients du monde entier. Ma foi en Jesus Christ est prédominante pour moi. Mon amour du sport est contrebalancé par mon appétit débordant pour les pates et les crèmes glacées.

Quand as-tu commencé à t’intéresser à l’art et au design ?

Depuis que je suis tout petit, j’ai toujours essayé d’analyser différents sujets et champs d’activités, que ce soit le business, les gens ou encore la culture. En y repensant, mes hypothèses quand j’analysais un sujet étaient souvent incorrectes, mais j’ai toujours appris énormément en le faisant. Sur la fin de mon adolescence, j’ai commencé à réaliser à quel point j’adorais analyser le design et le branding. Depuis ce moment, cette passion n’a cessé de grandir.

Pourquoi t’es-tu spécialisé dans le design de logos ?

Je dois avouer que j’aime vraiment les réflexions conceptuelles et avoir une idée ainsi qu’un but derrière chaque production artistique. Le design de logos requière tout le temps ce type de réflexion et sa mise en forme au final de façon la plus minimale possible. C’est donc l’une des raisons pour laquelle j’aime le design de logo.

“Sur la fin de mon adolescence, j’ai commencé à réaliser à quel point j’adorais analyser le design et le branding. Depuis ce moment, cette passion n’a cessé de grandir.”

Penses-tu que le design de logos est un art à part ?

Absolument. L’une de mes descriptions favorites de l’art est « le produit de la créativité ». Le design de logo englobe vraiment cette définition.

Quels sont les points les plus importants dans la création d’un logo ?

Cela dépend si l’on parle de verbes ou d’adjectifs. Les verbes clés pour la création d’un bon logo sont :
– Concevoir
– Se documenter
– Mind Map
– Esquisser

Les adjectifs importants seraient :
– Unique
– Mémorable
– Reconnaissable
– Adaptable

Est-il possible d’avoir une bonne identité visuelle sans avoir un bon logo à ton avis ?

Un logo est le visage d’une société, et si il semble amateur, négligé, pas professionnel ou qu’il représente mal celle-ci, cela risque de prendre un moment avant que l’on passe au-delà des idées préconçues que l’on a sur la société. Donc dans ce sens, l’identité visuelle a un impact énorme sur l’image initiale de la marque. Ceci étant dit, une marque est beaucoup plus qu’un simple design de logo et il est possible d’avoir une marque populaire et ayant une bonne image sans pour autant avoir un bon logo. Je pense notamment au site Craigslist.com et à son immense succès sans même avoir un logo.

“Un logo est le visage d’une société, et si il semble amateur, négligé, pas professionnel ou qu’il représente mal celle-ci, cela risque de prendre un moment avant que l’on passe au-delà des idées préconçues que l’on a sur la société.”

Est-il toujours plus difficile de travailler sur un logo dans lequel plusieurs mots doivent apparaitre ? (par comparaison avec un logo où un mot seulement doit apparaitre)

En général, il faut davantage réfléchir pour obtenir la bonne composition et la bonne balance visuelle dans le cas de titres longs. Le challenge que je trouve le plus relevé est lorsque le client a déjà un logo pour sa société mère et qu’il veut le voir apparaître en même temps que le logo que je design. Ca me donne généralement l’impression d’emprisonner ma créativité personnelle.

Quand tu crées un logo, penses-tu toujours à la façon dont il peut apparaitre en mouvement dans un site web ou une vidéo ?

Oui, c’est vraiment important de garder à l’esprit que le logo va être adapté partout par la marque. Si c’est pour une société productrice de films, nous devons penser à la façon dont le logo pourra être animé ou adapté sur la tranche d’un DVD. Si on design un logo pour un réseau social, il faut penser à la façon de l’adapter à une icone de 16×16 pixels, etc.

“Si c’est pour une société productrice de films, nous devons penser à la façon dont le logo pourra être animé ou adapté sur la tranche d’un DVD.”

Hormis les logos, qu’aimes-tu créer ?

Une des mes autres passions est la musique. Je joue de la contrebasse, de la basse électrique, du piano et j’adore faire l’imbécile avec ma guitare. Je joue actuellement à temps partiel avec notre groupe familial, The Josties (www.josties.com). J’aime aussi passer du temps dans ma cuisine à cuisiner de temps en temps.

Question classique : d’où viens ton inspiration ?

J’aimerais pouvoir dire que j’ai un puit d’inspiration spécifique où je vais tout le temps mais trouver l’inspiration n’a vraiment pas de solution officielle. Je trouve que les cartes heuristiques ou l’utilisation d’un thésaurus peuvent vraiment aider à rester créatif et stimuler de nouvelles idées.

Pour finir, as-tu quelque chose à ajouter ?

Merci pour cette interview !

Découvrez vite le portfolio de Josiah Jost et suivez-le sur Twitter.

Publié le 19 July 2010
par Nicolas
Catégorie(s)
Graphic design, Illustration
  • http://www.lazyheart.com lazy

    Chouette interview ! Une personne très talentueuse au niveau logotype :)

  • Ait Mehdi

    de BEAUX Création ,Conception Intéligente… Chappeau :)

  • http://alexandrecrenn.com/folio Alexandre Crenn

    J’aime énormément son travail, son interview m’aide énormément car je veux moi même me spécialisé dans les logotype. Merci pour cette interview :)

Recent

Popular